From Nara with love :)

Some interesting quotes by famous people

Posted on: June 22, 2011

Those who do not learn the lessons of history are bound to repeat them. Santyana

He who asks is a fool for fiveminutes, but he who does not ask remains a fool forever.Chinese proverb

I cannot teach anybody anything, I can only make them think. Socrates (470-399 B.C.)  

I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand. Confucius

All things are difficult before they are easy. Thomas Fuller

Curiosity is one of the permanent and certain characteristics of a vigorous mind. Samuel Johnson

I find that the harder I work, the more luck I seem to have. Thomas Jefferson (1743-1826)

I am still learning. Michelangelo  

Believe one who has proved it. Believe an expert. Virgil, Aeneid

All truth passes through three stages. First, it is ridiculed. Second, it is violently opposed. Third, it is accepted as being self-evident. Arthur Schopenhauer (1788-1860)

Learning is a treasure that will follow its owner everywhere. Chinese proverb

Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm Ralph Waldo Emerson

The more we do, the more we can do William Hazlett

Man’s mind, once stretched by a new idea, never regains its original dimensions. Oliver Wendell Holmes                         
It is not because things are difficult that we do not dare, it is because we do not dare that they are difficult. Seneca

Pay no attention to what the critics say; no statue has ever been erected to a critic. Jean Sibelius 

What lies behind us and what lies before us are tiny matters compared to what lies within us. Oliver Wendell Holmes

Each problem that I solved became a rule which served afterwards to solve other problems. Rene Descartes

Education is a progressive discovery of our own ignorance. Will Durant

Readers are plentiful, thinkers are rare. Harriet Martineau

Leave a Reply

